Why I like driving

Oct 6, 2024

I've been driving a bike for 8 years and a car for about 5 years. Driving always felt liberating (except in Bangalore traffic).

Long drives were nice, not tiring, and something I looked forward to. Even a small drive was refreshing and enjoyable.

I was never able to figure out why I liked it so much. I don't drive too fast, I wasn't a speed junky. I kept within the limits and enjoyed driving.

One epiphany I had was "I like driving because I'm in control".

In life, we go through a lot of things. Many things you don't have control over just happen to you.

All you can do is, go with the flow. You can't slow down if you feel like, you can't go fast just because you want to.

You play with the cards you dealt with, and you try to make the best out of it.

Driving on the other hand, you press a pedal to stop and step on another pedal to go faster. It's just within your reach.